Old is the New New.

I (luckily!) picked the perfect weekend to revisit Chicago.  Though my main aim was to apply for my visa, my appointment was the same weekend as the beloved Randolph Street Market.  As a vintage enthusiast, I found it a necessity to plot out all antique fairs and shops in Chicago after my move to the city, and this is one of my favorites.

My find of the weekend: a vintage Samsonite carry-on bag.  Snatched this beauty for a mere $25.  The bag is mod bowling-bag style, from their popular soft-sided collection of the 60s or early 70s.

It smelled a bit stale, as most vintage items do, so I placed lavender scented dryer sheets in the bag and each pocket and closed them for 3 days.  Soaks up the stench and adds a fresh smell.  

In love with the lock on the side!

It’s inevitable to discover an item that seems outrageous the moment you see it, then later seems essential to your life.  This is that item.  At first glance, you’d think “Why would anyone need a radio that looks like a golden owl with eyes as the dials?” and later you think “Me, that’s who.”  (Pardon the “who” pun.)

And, as always, RSM offered some of the most delightful (yet quick!) food for lunch!  I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the chefs at Gotta B Crepes are imaginative enough to make pizza on crepes!

Leave a Reply

