||| jazz aspen snowmass |||

this past weekend I had the opportunity to travel to aspen and snowmass for work to attend the jazz aspen snowmass festival. it has been super busy at work lately so I must admit that I wasn’t thrilled to be working through the weekend, but it turned out to be an amazing weekend filled with beautiful weather, breathtaking scenery, and (my favorite part) musical talent galore.

unfortunately, I am not the photog that rachel is and as I mentioned, I was working, so I didn’t get any really good pictures of the bands. however, I copied these photos from the jazz aspen snowmass facebook page.

the steve miller band kicked off the event on the main stage and the night ended with sugarland who put on such a fun performance (not much else to say about them because I had to leave early due to a migraine. ugh.)

saturday was probably my favorite day because I love mumford & sons (no idea I would see them live when rachel posted this!) and they were traveling with nathaniel rateliff. trombone shorty put on one of the most energetic performances of the weekend and was definitely a true jazz band (whereas, most of the others were rock).

sunday began with michael franti and the spearheads—if you have never seen them in concert, I definitely recommend it! they brought so many people up onto the stage so everyone was having a blast. the show ended with kid rock, whose music is a bit too intense for my tastes, but he really put on an amazing show and is a fantastic performer.

i worked in a booth at the outside magazine stage (2nd stage) so I got to be right up close to some of the bands who played. speaking of which, there is one more band that I just have to mention! I think you me & apollo is my new favorite band—definitely up and comers, sample their music here. I listened to their cd the entire 4 hour drive back to denver!

3 thoughts on “||| jazz aspen snowmass |||

  1. You are having to much fun to be working. I went to the movie “Hit and Run “last night and it is a must see. Very funny comedy and the cast was perfect. I first noticed the movie from your blog and looked it up on the computer and decided I wanted to see it. Keep up the good work. love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

